• Missionaries of St. Francis de Sales
    Province of East Africa

The Missionaries of St. Francis de Sales in East Africa

The Congregation of the “Missionaries of St. Francis de Sales” (MSFS) also known as Fransalians) was founded under the patronage of St. Francis de Sales by the Servant of God Fr. Peter Mary Mermier at Annecy, France in 1838. Barely seven years later, the Missionaries set out to preach the Word of God to the people of India.

Our apostolate are

  • primary evangelization
  • renewal of Christian faith
  • parish missions
  • education of the young
  • vocational training
  • social work such as street children programme orphanages and dispensaries.

The Congregation has ten Provinces and four autonomous missions in 28 countries. There are about 1.300 members in the Congregation. There are 140 MSFS priests engaged in various pastoral activities in 11 countries of African Continent (Tanzania, Kenya, Uganda, Tchad, Camerron, Mozambique, Malawi, Zambia, South Africa, Namibia and Swaziland).

MSFS came to Tanzania in 1988. The Province of East Africa was established in 1996 comprising Tanzania, Kenya and Uganda. MSFS Missionaries in East Africa are currently involved in pastoral works in the Archdiocese of Tabora, Diocese of Kahama, Archdiocese of Dar es Salaam, Archdiocese of Arusha, Archdiocese of Dodoma and in the Diocese of Morogoro in Tanzania. In Kenya, the MSFS began their missionary apostolate in 1997. We are presently working in the Diocese of Meru, Machakos and Ngong. We also began our missionary apostolate in Uganda in April of 2001 and serve in three parishes in the Archdiocese of Tororo and in one parish in the diocese of Jinja. The Province also has many educational institutions and social and developmental programmes in East Africa. At present there are 65 MSFS priests from India, Tanzania, Kenya and Uganda working in East Africa.


Number of Priests: 65

Number of Seminarians: 58 (Theology: 13; Philosophy 20; Novitiate: 13; Aspirancy: 12)

Number Parishes/Missions: 19 (Tanzania:12; Kenya: 3; Uganda:4) (221 Sub-Stations)

Number Kindergarten and Primary Schools: 9 (Tanzania: 7; Kenya: 2)

Number Secondary Schools: 5 (Tanzania: 3; Kenya: 1; Uganda:1)

Number of Vocational Training Centres: 4 (Tanzania: 2; Kenya: 1; Uganda:1)

Street Children Programme: 1 (Tanzania)

Project for Blind: 1 (Tanzania)

Orphanage: 1 (Tanzania)


All these facilities are conducted in cooparation with the local population. The church and the government as well are very grateful for the work of the missionaries, their function and their accomplishments.